Featured Photographer: Aaron DuRall

Aaron DuRall is a nice guy. Here at Local Ghosts, meeting nice people is something we strive for, because we’ve had a few experiences with not so nice people. So when someone comes along and they’re a good artist and an actual friendly person as well, we don’t take it for granted. I met Aaron through that hardcore punk messageboard I constantly namedrop on here and his work stuck out to me. He is a no nonsense good photographer. I like that about him. I told him to send me some information about himself and the dude went all out, so I’m just going to copy and paste the blurb he wrote about himself because I highly doubt I could do any better than that. Without further ado, Aaron DuRall:

“My name is Aaron DuRall and I am a 27 year old native of Joplin, Missouri. I work two jobs – One as a copy editor for Asay Media Network in Joplin, which specializes in copier and print industry news. Additionally, I am a lifestyle and wedding photographer. My website is http://www.durallphotography.com

My business strongly entails weddings and engagements, but also includes some senior and family portraits here and there. I describe my style as modern with an emphasis on photojournalism and somewhat a fine art approach. I like to offer a different alternative to weddings, engagements, seniors, and families. Traditional is not my style at all. I also hate rules, so I tend to pay them no mind.

I’ve been shooting for a number of years, but have only been shooting “seriously” for around two. Growing up, my old stepdad was a huge film camera buff. He had an extensive collection as well. That was what initially sparked my interest in photography at a young age. However, after he and my mother separated, that essentially took me away from the element of having cameras within reach. For years, I could never afford anything beyond a point-and-shoot. Finally, a little more than two years ago, I said screw it and blew the money I was saving for more tattoos on my first DSLR. Honestly, it was the best decision I ever made, aside from marrying my best friend, Whitney DuRall, who is also my business partner.

When I first began getting serious about photography, having a career/job in the field wasn’t even a consideration. However, as time went on, I was urged by friends, family, and my photography peers that I really should consider making a business of it. After much consideration and many free sessions, I felt comfortable and knowledgeable enough to provide a service that produced quality work with a unique vision for clients. It’s been really great and both the growth I’ve experienced personally and from a business perspective has been very rewarding and humbling. I feel pretty fortunate.

As for my interests, I play music in a band called Whist. It’s more of an alternative/post-hardcore band. You can check us out at http://www.facebook.com/whistmusic. I am the guitarist, lead vocalist, and creator of the band. Aside from that and photography, I am an avid lover of punk rock/hardcore, indie/alternative, and pop music. I’m also a lover of soccer, tattoos, films, nature/being outdoors, and crafting.

My preference for photography is actually weddings, which makes sense seeing as that’s what my business is centered around. Honestly, I probably love weddings and engagements more than any guy should. haha. What can I say? I’m a sap for a good love story.”

Charming, isn’t it? Give this man your business. It’s definitely worth it.

Leave a comment